Wednesday, April 09, 2008

Griffin Poetry Prize Jury has whittled it down

Out of 509 eligible submissions the Griffin Poetry Prize Jury has whittled it down to the following:

Canadian Shortlist

The Holy Forest: Collected Poems of Robin Blaser • Robin Blaser
University of California Press

Notebook of Roses and CivilizationRobert Majzels and Erin Moure, translated from the French,written by Nicole Brossard
Coach House Books

Why Are You So Sad? Selected Poems of David W. McFadden • David McFadden
Insomniac Press/4 a.m. Books

International Shortlist

Notes from the Air: Selected Later Poems • John Ashbery
HarperCollins Publishers/Ecco

Ripple Effect: New and Selected Poems • Elaine Equi
Coffee House Press

The Complete Poetry: A Bilingual Edition
Clayton Eshleman, translated from the Spanish,written by C├ęsar Vallejo
University of California Press

Selected Poems 1969-2005 • David Harsent
Faber and Faber


The 2007 Canadian winner of the Griffin Poetry prize was Don McKay.