Friday, June 06, 2008

This year's Griffin Prize winners announced

TORONTO – June 4, 2008 – John Ashbery's Notes From the Air: Selected Later Poems and Robin Blaser's The Holy Forest: Collected Poems of Robin Blaser are the International and Canadian winners of the eighth annual Griffin Poetry Prize. The C$100,000 Griffin Poetry Prize, the richest poetry prize in the world for a single volume of poetry, is divided between the two winners. The prize is for first edition books of poetry published in 2007, and submitted from anywhere in the world.

International Winner

Notes from the Air: Selected Later Poems , John Ashbery
HarperCollins Publishers/Ecco

Canadian Winner

The Holy Forest: Collected Poems of Robin Blaser, Robin Blaser
University of California Press

READ the rest here.


Last year's Canadian winner of the Griffin Prize, Don McKay recently released an audio recording of his poems selected on the themes of birds, birding and flight, Songs for the Songs of Birds , with Rattling Books.