Tuesday, June 17, 2008

ReLit Awards (very) longlist announced

ReLit Awards (very) longlist announced
June 17, 2008

Author Kenneth J. Harvey has announced the longlist for the eighth annual ReLit Awards, which recognize works published by independent presses. The winners will be announced at an event during the Ottawa International Writers Festival in October.

Short fiction

Up on the Roof by P.K. Page (The Porcupine’s Quill)
The Goldfish Dancer by Patricia Robertson (Biblioasis)
Seven Openings of the Head by Liane Keightley (conundrum press)
What Belongs by F.B. Andre (Ronsdale Press)
The Breakdown So Far by M.A.C. Farrant (Talonbooks)
The Penance Drummer by Lois Braun (Turnstone Press)
Black Rabbit by Salvatore Difalco (Anvil Press)
Bix’s Trumpet by Dave Margoshes (NeWest Press)
Boys by Kathleen Winter (Biblioasis)
In a Mist by Devon Code (Invisible Press)
At the Bottom of the Sea by Peter Dube (DC Books)
Six Ways to Sunday by Christian McPherson (Nightwood Editions)
One Day it Happens by Mary Lou Dickinson (Inanna Publications)
A Feat of Longing by Sarah Klassen (Coteau Books)
Long Story Short by Elyse Friedman (House of Anansi Press)
The Woman Who Walks on Glass by Christiane Frenette (Cormorant Books)
All in Together Girls by Kate Sutherland (Thistledown Press)
Long After Fathers by Roberta Rees (Coteau Books)
The Reckoning of Boston Jim by Claire Mulligan (Brindle & Glass)
I, Tania by Brian Joseph Davis (ECW Press)
The Outlander by Gil Adamson (House of Anansi Press)
Shelf Monkey by Corey Redekop (ECW Press)
Orphan Love by Nadia Bozak (Key Porter Books)
The Milk Chicken Bomb by Andrew Wedderburn (Coach House Books)
Glass Voices by Carol Bruneau (Cormorant Books)
Macdonald by Roy MacSkimming (Thomas Allen Publishers)
Dirtbags by Teresa McWhirter (Anvil Press)
Homing by Stephanie Domet (Invisible Press)
The Flannigans by M.T. Dohaney (Flanker Press)
The Silent Time by Paul Rowe (Killick Press)
The Convictions of Leonard McKinley by Brendan McLeod (3-Day Books)
A Place of Pretty Flowers by Jerrod Edson (Oberon Press)
Brother Dumb by Sky Gilbert (ECW Press)
Big White Knuckles by Brian Tucker (Vagrant Press)
As Good as Dead by Stan Rogal (Pedlar Press)
Be Good by Stacey May Fowles (Tightrope Books)
Coureurs de Bois by Bruce MacDonald (Cormorant Books)
Bottle Rocket Hearts by Zoe Whittall (Cormorant Books )
The Book of Beasts by Bernice Friesen (Coteau Books)
Where White Horses Gallop by Beatrice MacNeil (Key Porter Books)
Correction Road by Glen Dresser (Oberon Press)
Smuggling Donkeys by David Helwig (The Porcupine’s Quill)
74 Miles Away by J.D. Carpenter (Dundurn Group)
Post by Arley McNeney (Thistledown Press)
White by Rob Mclennan (Mercury Press)
The Skin Beneath by Nairne Holtz (Insomniac Press)
Room Tone by Gale Zoe Garnett (Quattro Press)
Soucouyant by David Chariandy (Arsenal Pulp Press)
Be Wolf by Wayne Tefs (Turnstone Press)
Snow Candy by Terry Carroll (Mercury Press)
Stealing Nasreen by Farzana Doctor (Inanna Publications)
The Housekeeping Journals by Jim Mason (Turnstone Press)
Planet Reese by Cordelia Strube (Dundurn Group)
The Prison Tangram by Claire Huot (Mercury Press)
Crown Shyness by Curtis Gillespie (Brindle & Glass)
The Flush of Victory by Ray Smith (Biblioasis)
Delible by Anne Stone (Insomniac Press)
Pulpy & Midge by Jessica Westhead (Coach House Books)
The Hole Show by Maya Merrick (Conundrum Press)


Made Beautiful by Use by Sean Horlor (Signature Editions)
The Bindery by Shane Rhodes (NeWest Press)
Natural Disasters by Andrea MacPherson (Palimpsest Press)
My Mother Agrees with the Dead by Susan Stenson (Wolsak & Wynn)
ths is erth thees ar peopul by bill bissett (Talonbooks)
Falsework by Gary Geddes (Goose Lane Editions)
Vermeer’s Light by George Bowering (Talonbooks)
Going Around with Bachelors by Agnes Walsh (Brick Books)
Full Depth by Micheline Maylor (Wolsak & Wynn)
My Etruscan Face by Gianna Patriarca (Quattro Press)
The Stone Skippers by Ian Burgham (Tightrope Books)
Erratic by Donna Kane (Hagios Press)
Accidental Animals by Michael Trussler (Hagios Press)
The Shovel by Colin Browne (Talonbooks)
Loyalty Management by Glen Downie (Wolsak & Wynn)
All Things Said & Done by Marita Dachsel (Caitlin Press)
Sitcom by David McGimpsey (Coach House Press)
Two Hemispheres by Nadine McInnis (Brick Books)
Selected Portraits by Ron Charach (Wolsak & Wynn)
Thin Moon Psalm by Sheri Benning (Brick Books)
Rental Van by Clint Burnham (Anvil Press)
Muybridge’s Horse by Rob Winger (Nightwood Editions)
High Speed Through Shoaling Water by Tom Wayman (Harbour Publishing)
Songs for the Dancing Chicken by Emily Schultz (ECW Press)
Impersonating Flowers by David Bateman (Frontenac House)
The Discipline of Undressing by K. Louise Vincent (Leaf Press)
Combustion by Lorri Neilsen Glenn (Brick Books)
Quotidian Fever by Endre Farkas (The Muses’ Company)
Domain by Barbara Nickel (House of Anansi Press)
Torch River by Elizabeth Philips (Brick Books)
O, Clytaemnestra! by Judith Fitzgerald (Oberon Press)
Soft Geography by Gillian Wigmore (Caitlin Press)
I Cut My Finger by Stuart Ross (Anvil Press)
Earth’s Crude Gravities by Patrick Friesen (Harbour Publishing)
Adagio for the Pressured Surround by Steven Ross Smith (NeWest Press)
Red Bird by Ian Roy (BuschekBooks)
I’m Not Going to Lie to You by Michael Blouin (Pedlar Press)
Beatitudes by Hermenegilde Chiasson (Goose Lane Editions)
Making Bones Walk by Alex Boyd (Luna Publications)
Cleavage: A Life in Breasts by Marilyn Gear Pilling (Black Moss Press)
The Sweet Fuels by Erin Knight (Goose Lane Editions)
Found by Souvankham Thammavongsa (Pedlar Press)
More to Keep Us Warm by Jacob Scheier (ECW Press)
Woodshedding by S.E. Venart (Brick Books)
Broken Vessel by Harry Thurston (Gaspereau Press)
Old Winter by Anne Le Dressay (Chaudiere Books)
The Love Song of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Sharon McCartney (Nightwood Editions)
The Tablecloth Trick by Rick Crilly (ECW Press)
Last Water Song by Patrick Lane (Harbour Publishing)
AEthel by Donato Mancini (New Star Books)
All Our Wonder Unavenged by Don Domanski (Brick Books)
The Bone Broker by Lillian Necakov (Mansfield Press)
Why Are You So Sad? by David W. McFadden (Insomniac Press)
Last Scattering Surfaces by Gil McElroy (Talonbooks)
Hands Reaching in Water by Gary Hyland (Hagios Press)
Floors of Enduring Beauty by Steve Venright (Mansfield Press)