Thursday, October 02, 2008

Russell Wangersky's Burning Down the House makes short list for The Writers' Trust Non-fiction Prize

Russell Wangersky's recent book, Burning Down the House: Fighting Fire and Losing Myself (Thomas Allen Publishers) is on the short list for the 2008 Writers' Trust Non-fiction Prize.

The Complete set of Short Lists:

The Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize ($25,000):
Rivka Galchen, Atmospheric Disturbances (HarperCollins Canada)
Rawi Hage, Cockroach (House of Anansi Press)
Lee Henderson, The Man Game (Viking Canada)
Patrick Lane, Red Dog, Red Dog (McClelland & Stewart)
Miriam Toews, The Flying Troutmans (Knopf Canada)
(Jurors: Lawrence Hill, Annabel Lyon, Heather O'Neill)

The Writers' Trust Non-fiction Prize ($25,000):
Taras Grescoe, Bottomfeeder: How to Eat Ethically in a World of Vanishing Seafood (HarperCollins Canada)
Carl Honoré, Under Pressure: Rescuing Childhood from the Culture of Hyper-Parenting (Knopf Canada)
Mark Kingwell, Concrete Reveries: Consciousness and the City (Viking Canada)
Margaret Visser, The Gift of Thanks: The Roots, Persistence and Paradoxical Meanings of a Social Ritual (HarperCollins Canada)
Russell Wangersky, Burning Down the House: Fighting Fire and Losing Myself (Thomas Allen Publishers)
(Jurors: Derek Lundy, Darren Wershler-Henry, Jan Wong)

The Writers' Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize ($10,000):
Dana Mills, “Steaming for Godthab,” published in Geist
Saleema Nawaz, “My Three Girls,” published in Prairie Review
Clea Young, “Chaperone,” published in Grain Magazine
(Jurors: Lynn Coady, Heather O'Neill, Neil Smith)

The Writers' Trust Awards take place on Nov. 17 at the Isabel Bader Theatre in Toronto.


Two short stories by Russell Wangersky are forthcoming with Rattling Books in a new series of audio short fiction anthologies entitled EarLit Shorts.