Monday, November 19, 2007

Metcalf-Rooke Award Shortlist Announced

Bruce Johnson Makes the Metcalf-Rooke Award Shortlist

Bruce Johnson, curator at The Rooms Provincial Art Gallery, has been shortlisted for the Metcalf-Rooke Award for the manuscript of his novel, Firmament. Other shortlisted writers are Grant Buday for Dragonflies, a novel; Rebecca Rosenblum for Once, a collection of short fiction; and J.J. Steinfeld for Contemplating Madnesses, a collection of short fiction.

The winner of the award will receive a $1500.00 advance, a publishing contract with Biblioasis, a book tour, a leather bound copy of their book, a special pre-publication profile in The New Quarterly, and "other as-yet-to-be-determined perks." The winner will be announced this Friday, November 23rd. For more information, visit the Biblioasis website.

Newfoundland writer Kathleen Winter was the winner of last year's Metcalf-Rooke Award for her short story collection, Boys.

Rattling Books would like to congratulate all of this year's shortlisted writers.