Friday, January 20, 2012

Sparks Literary Festival, St. John's, Newfoundland January 22, 2012

Once again a great line up of Newfoundland authors can be heard reading their work at the Sparks Festival spearheaded by Mary Dalton at Memorial University of Newfoundland.

10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Sunday, January 22, 2012 at the Petro Canada Hall, School of Music. (Map)

This year's schedule below includes links for participating authors with Rattling Books recordings  

to their respective pages on

10 a.m. - Opening remarks:
Dr. Lisa Rankin, Dean of Arts
Mary Dalton, Director, SPARKS
10:10 – 11:40 a.m. - Session 1
Chair: Joan Clark
Readers: Edward Riche, Stephanie Trevorrow, Marjorie Doyle, Mark Callanan
11:40 a.m. – 12 p.m. - Mingling with authors and exhibitors
12 – 1 p.m. - Lunch break in the Hutton Choral Room (MU-1032)
1 – 2:20 p.m. - Session 2
Chair: Ramona Dearing
Readers: Danielle Devereaux, Lesleyanne Ryan, Patrick Warner, Joel Hynes
2:20 – 2:30 p.m. – Coffee Break
2:30 – 4 p.m. – Session 3
Chair: Stan Dragland
Readers: Agnes Walsh, John Ennis, Jamie Fitzpatrick, Leslie Vryenhoek
4 – 4:20 p.m. – Coffee Break in MU-1032
4:20 – 6 p.m. – Session 4
Chair: Rob Finley
Readers: Russell Wangersky, Shoshanna Wingate, Frank Barry
Haiku competition announcement
Cox & Palmer SPARKS Creative Writing Award announcement
Closing remarks: Mary Dalton
6 p.m. – Reception in Hutton Choral Room (MU-1032)
Authors are available to sign books after their reading sessions.
The festival is open to all. Free parking is available in Lot 15B, next to (and east of) the School of Music.
For more about the Sparks Festival visit their website.